Studentenwerk Berlin
Navigation in dieser Seite:

Staying in Germany

Staying in Germany














Upon completing their studies, many international students decide that they would like to remain in Germany. Please refer to our checklist for a detailed list of tasks that must be done upon completing your studies.



Postgraduate Studies

Some students go on to pursue a postgraduate degree. The international office of your university or Fachhochschule, as well as the academic faculties, can provide you with further information specific to the degree and institution you are interested in. You can also search for postgraduate degree programs in Germany through the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD). In addition, the DAAD has a scholarship database, as does the Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen (Association of German Foundations), which easily allows you to look into different funding possibilities. Additional scholarship information is available here.

[top]



Finding a Job in Germany

Other students wish to find a job in Germany. Many universities and Fachhochschulen in Berlin have career service offices that provide valuable information and workshops to assist students with their search for employment.

Students from European Union or European Economic Area countries and Switzerland may work in Germany without a work permit and do not need approval from the Federal Employment Agency to become employed in Germany. The European Employment Service (EURES) is a job mobility portal that provides information, advice, and job placement services for job seekers and employers of the European labor market. You can search in their online database for job offers in Germany and the other 28 EU and EEA countries. Germany’s Federal Employment Agency also has a Europe Service that is linked with the EURES network and that offers additional information on work and training opportunities in Germany, the rest of Europe, and worldwide.

If you are a student from a Non-EU/EAA country and have successfully completed your studies, you may extend your residence permit in Germany for an additional one year for the purpose of seeking employment. You can apply for this extension at the Foreigner Registration Office (Ausländerbehörde). You must be able to prove that you have adequate financial resources in order to support yourself while you search for a job.

In addition, during this one-year extension period, you still have the right to work 120 full days or 240 half days without a work permit.

Please note: upon completing your studies, your residence permit as a student is no longer valid, regardless of whether the permit was designated for a longer period of time. Without extending your residence permit, you cannot legally stay in Germany.

The majority of employment positions offered to non-EU/EAA citizens must be approved by the Federal Employment Agency. This applies to side jobs and temporary positions as well. Approval, on the other hand, is not needed for employment in the science, research, and development fields.

The Central Placement Office (ZAV) is the service of the Federal Employment Agency in Germany that places Germans in jobs abroad and international persons in jobs in Germany. The ZAV works with employment agencies thoughout Germany as well as with each Federal State’s employment administration.

You can search for current employment opportunities in Germany here, through the Federal Employment Agency’s website. The Stellenbörsen website is also a very useful resource with a variety of career information and links to other job search sites. In addition, various local and national newspapers, such as the Berliner Zeitung, Berliner Morgenpost, the Tagesspiegel and Die Zeit as well as Berlin.de and the city magazines Zitty and Tip, post job offers in Berlin and nationwide.

Further detailed information about laws and regulations pertaining to international job seekers in Germany is available from the Federal Employment Agency and the Federal Foreign Office.

[top]



<< back to End of Studies

Access-Keys:

Zum Seitenanfang

Studentenwerk Berlin
Navigation in dieser Seite:

In Deutschland bleiben

In Deutschland bleiben














Nach Beendigung Ihres Studienaufenthalts, entscheiden sich viele internationale Studierende, noch länger in Deutschland zu bleiben. Bitte nutzen Sie unsere Checkliste, um alles im Auge zu behalten, was nach Beendigung Ihres Studienaufenthaltes erledigt werden muss.



Promotionsstudium

Einige Studierende streben ein Promotionsstudium an. Das Akademische Auslandsamt Ihrer Hochschule und die Institute der Universität können Ihnen weitere Informationen zu Ihrem gewünschten Studienprogramm oder Ihrer Institution anbieten. Sie können auch mithilfe des Deutschen Akademischen Austausch Diensts (DAAD) Promotionsstudienprogramme in Deutschland finden. Außerdem hat der DAAD, ebenso wie der Bundesverband Deutscher Stiftungen, eine Stipendiendatenbank, die es Ihnen ermöglicht, verschiedene Finanzierungsmöglichkeiten einfach zu recherchieren. Zusätzliche Informationen über Stiftungen und Stipendien sind hier verfügbar.

[nach oben]



Einen Arbeitsplatz in Deutschland finden

Manche Studierende würden gerne einen Arbeitsplatz in Deutschland finden. Viele Universitäten und Fachhochschulen in Berlin haben Career Service Büros, die wertvolle Informationen und Workshops anbieten, um Studierenden bei ihrer Suche nach einer Stelle weiterzuhelfen.

Studierende aus der Europäischen Union oder den Europäischen Wirtschaftsräumen und der Schweiz dürfen in Deutschland ohne Arbeitserlaubnis arbeiten. Sie brauchen keine Genehmigung von der Bundesagentur für Arbeit, um in Deutschland eine Stelle zu bekommen. EURES, das Europäische Portal zur beruflichen Mobilität, bietet Informationen, Rat und Vermittlungsdienste für Arbeitssuchende und Arbeitgeber des europäischen Arbeitsmarktes an. In der EURES Internetdatenbank findet man Stellenangebote in Deutschland und den anderen 28 EU und EWR Ländern. Die Bundesagentur für Arbeit Deutschlands hat auch einen Europa Service, der mit dem EURES Netzwerk in Verbindung steht und zusätzliche Informationen über Arbeits- und Ausbildungsmöglichkeiten in Deutschland, Europa und weltweit anbietet.

Wenn Sie Studierende/r eines Nicht-EU/EWR Landes sind und Ihr Studium erfolgreich abgeschlossen haben, dürfen Sie Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis in Deutschland für ein weiteres Jahr verlängern, um eine Arbeitstelle zu finden. Sie können diese Verlängerung bei der Ausländerbehörde beantragen. Sie müssen nachweisen, dass Sie über ausreichende finanzielle Mittel verfügen, um sich während Ihrer Arbeitssuche finanziell unterhalten zu können.

Zusätzlich während dieser Verlängerung von einem Jahr dürfen Sie noch 120 Tage, oder 240"halbe" Tage ohne Arbeitserlaubnis arbeiten.

Wichtig: Nach Abschluss Ihres Studiums, ist Ihre Aufenthaltserlaubnis nicht mehr gültig, unabhängig davon, ob sie für längere oder kürzere Zeit vorgesehen war. Ohne die Verlängerung Ihrer Aufenthaltserlaubnis können sie nicht in Deutschland rechtlich bleiben.

Die Mehrzahl der Arbeitstellen, die Nicht-EU/EWR Bürgern angeboten werden, müssen von der Bundesagentur für Arbeit genehmigt werden. Das gilt auch für Nebenjobs und Aushilfestellen. Diese Genehmigung entfällt jedoch in den Bereichen der Wissenschaft, Forschung und Entwicklung.

Die Zentralstelle für Arbeitsvermittlung (ZAV) ist ein Dienst der Bundesagentur für Arbeit in Deutschland, der deutschen Arbeitssuchenden Stellen im Ausland und internationalen Arbeitssuchenden Stellen in Deutschland vermittelt. Die ZAV arbeitet mit Arbeitsvermittlungen überall in Deutschland und auch der Arbeitsverwaltung jedes Bundeslandes zusammen.

Aktuelle Arbeitstellen mithilfe der Bundesagentur für Arbeit finden Sie hier. Die Webseite Stellenbörsen ist auch eine sehr nützliche Quelle mit einem großen Angebot an beruflichen Informationen und Links zu anderen Suchmaschinen für Jobs. Zusätzlich stellen verschiedene örtliche Zeitungen Stellenangebote aus Berlin sowie deutschlandweit ins Internet, z.B. die Berliner Zeitung, die Berliner Morgenpost, der Tagesspiegel, und Die Zeit, sowie Berlin.de und die Stadtmagazine Zitty und Tip
.

Weitere detaillierte Informationen über die Regeln und Vorschriften für internationale Arbeitssuchende in Deutschland gibt es bei der Bundesagentur für Arbeit und dem Auswärtigen Amt.

[nach oben]



<< zurück zum Ende des Studienaufenthalts

Access-Keys:

Zum Seitenanfang